Kangaroos, Ostriches, Lemurs and several more animals to make their way in Mumbai zoo!

A proposal to expand Byculla zoo was recently finalized and six zones will be created as a part of the expansion. This will unfold on two plots of 7 acres and 3.5 acres. The six proposed zones are:

1. African Savannah- giraffes, zebras, cheetah, a hippo, lemur, ostriches.

2. Australian bush- Kangaroos, wallabies, emus, black swan.

3. South African zone- a jaguar

4. South east-Asian zone- tapirs, hoolock gibbone

5. Primate Island- chimpanzees, rhesus monkeys and bonnetmacaques

6. Flamingo Island